Welcome: New IBBY Canada Board Members

IBBY Canada welcomed three new board members at the AGM. Thank you to Frances Gao, Nicholas Aumais and Jean-François Sénéchal for joining!

Recording Secretary — Frances Gao

Frances Gao is a children’s librarian at Toronto Public Library. She has a Master of Information from the University of Toronto and an Honours Bachelor of Arts in English and professional writing, specializing in book publishing, from York University. Frances became a member of IBBY Canada in 2015. She has volunteered as an IBBY Canada member at The Word on the Street Festival for the past four years.

Liaison Communication-Jeunesse — Nicholas Aumais

Nicholas Aumais has been working in the field of children’s literature for over 14 years. As a child he was already living in a world of books where characters such as Huckleberry Finn and Phileas Fogg were his most faithful companions. After studying linguistics, Nicholas worked notably as Director of Communications and Marketing for Bayard Canada Livres. He has translated several non-fiction books and picture books for children, and is the author of picture books. His recent books include a novel and a picture book inspired by the animated movie Racetime! In addition to leading his literary conferences for professionals in both book and educational fields, Nicholas presents literary workshops for elementary school children with Communication-Jeunesse.

Regional Councillor Quebec — Jean-François Sénéchal

Trained in anthropology, Jean-François Sénéchal writes young adult novels and picture books. He has been a finalist and laureate of many awards including the Prix des libraires du Québec, the Governor General’s Literary Award and the Prix jeunesse des bibliothèques de Montréal. His young adult novel Le boulevard (Leméac Éditeur, 2016) was IBBY Canada’s selection in the Text category for the 2018 IBBY Honour List. In 2017 he was awarded the Joseph S. Stauffer Award by the Canada Council for the Arts. This award aims to encourage young Canadians of outstanding promise or potential. Since 2006, Jean-François has been the editor for the Livres ouverts website for Quebec’s Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur. He also participates in different projects as video director, screenwriter and editor.

Returning Board Members are:

President: Mary Beth Leatherdale
Vice President: Fred Horler
* 2nd Vice President: Theo Heras
* Treasurer: Yvette Ghione
Membership Secretary: Helena Aalto
Promotions Officer: Emma Sakamoto
* Website Editor: Trish Osuch
Newsletter Editor: Patti McIntosh
Liaison Canadian Children’s Book Centre: Meghan Howe
Liaison CANSCAIP: Lana Button
Regional Councillor East: Jane Baskwill
* Regional Councillor Ontario: Lesley Clement
* Regional Councillor Alberta: Merle Harris
Regional Councillor British Columbia: Rob Bittner

* First year of two-year term

View next article –>

Back to Summer 2019 Newsletter Home