IBBY Canada Aubry Award presented to Patsy Aldana and Marie-Louise Gay

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 14, 2013: IBBY Canada, the Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People, is pleased to announce that the Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature has been presented to Patsy Aldana and Marie-Louise Gay. The Aubry Award was presented to Patsy Aldana on October 1 at a ceremony at the Northern District Branch of Toronto Public Library, and to Marie-Louise Gay on October 29 at the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal.

Patsy Aldana has an unwavering commitment to children’s literature as something vital in the lives of young people. In 1978 she started Groundwood Books and built the company into one of the world’s finest children’s publishers, producing award-winning books by Canadian and international authors and illustrators. Patsy’s far-reaching contribution was recognized with the Order of Canada in 2010. A tireless champion of reading, Patsy is co-chair of the National Reading Campaign and served as president of IBBY international. She is currently launching an international publishing imprint in China. Patsy lives in Toronto.

Marie-Louise Gay has written or illustrated more than 60 books published in over 15 languages. She has won every major award for Canadian children’s literature, including the Vicky Metcalf Award for her body of work. Canada Post issued stamps featuring Marie-Louise’s most beloved characters, siblings Stella and Sam. Her book Caramba was selected for the annual Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s Grade One Book Giveaway and distributed to 500,000 children. Loved by children and parents, praised by educators and critics, Marie-Louise’s books create worlds filled with imagination, warmth and humour. Marie-Louise lives in Montreal.

The Aubry Award jury, chaired by IBBY Canada past president Brenda Halliday, was comprised of Kirsten Andersen, teen services librarian at the Greater Victoria Public Library; Josiane Polidori, head of children’s literature at Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa; and Lisa Doucet, co-manager of Woozles Children’s Bookstore in Halifax.

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late author, translator, and director of the Ottawa Public Library. IBBY Canada presents two Aubry Awards biennially for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature in English, and in French. Previous recipients include Andrea Deakin, Chantal Vaillancourt, Dave Jenkinson, Charlotte Guérette, Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People, founded in 1953, represents an international network of people committed to bringing books and children together. IBBY Canada, is a volunteer organization formed in 1980, is one of over 70 national sections worldwide, and promotes quality French and English language Canadian children’s literature. IBBY Canada members include authors, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, educators, and publishers. For more information about IBBY and the Claude Aubry Award, please visit www.ibby-canada.

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:
Helena Aalto | Promotions Officer | IBBY Canada

Leave a Reply