IBBY Canada Aubry Award presented to Andrea Deakin (Alberta) and Chantal Vaillancourt (Quebec) for distinguished service to children’s literature

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 29, 2011: IBBY Canada, the Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People is pleased to announce that Andrea Deakin and Chantal Vaillancourt are the recipients of the 2010 Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature.

Andrea Deakin will be presented with her Aubry Award in Edmonton on Thursday, October 27th from 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Bruce Peel Special Collections Library (Lower Level, Rutherford Library, University of Alberta). Chantal Vaillancourt will receive her Aubry Award at the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal on Tuesday, October 25th at 7:00 p.m., in conjunction with the gala presentation of the French language TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award.

Andrea Deakin has promoted Canadian children’s literature extensively throughout her career as a teacher, syndicated book reviewer, and correspondent for the UK review journal ACHUKA. In 2004 she was awarded an honorary doctorate from Okanagan University College. A newsletter Andrea started in 2004 is now being published by the University of Alberta as an ejournal, The Deakin Review of Children’s Literature. Andrea also curated and donated a collection of award-winning children’s books to the library at Okanagan College, in memory of her husband. A long-time resident of Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Andrea now lives in Edmonton.

Chantal Vaillancourt has worked for over 20 years in publishing and reading promotion. She was formerly executive director of Communication Jeunesse, and helped to create the Toup’tilitou reading program in daycare centres across Quebec. Since 2006, Chantal has been a consultant, including working with the Canadian Children’s Book Centre as coordinator of the French-language TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, and managing the French-language component of TD Canadian Children’s Book Week. She is actively involved in the TD National Reading Summits. Chantal lives in Longueuil, Quebec.

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late Claude Aubry of the Ottawa Public Library. Two awards are now presented biennially by IBBY Canada for distinguished service in children’s literature in English, and in French. Previous recipients include Dave Jenkinson, Charlotte Guérette, Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People (www.ibby.org), founded in Switzerland in 1953, represents an international network of people who are committed to bringing books and children together and who believe in the ability of children’s books to bridge cultures and promote peace. Formed in 1980, IBBY Canada is one of over 70 national sections worldwide. IBBY Canada is a volunteer organization that promotes quality French and English
language Canadian children’s literature nationally and internationally. Members include authors, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, educators, and publishers. For more information about IBBY and the Claude Aubry Award, please visit the IBBY Canada web site www.ibby-canada.

— 30 —

For more information, please contact:
Helena Aalto, Promotions Officer IBBY Canada
(416) 658-3144 promotions@ibby-canada.org

Leave a Reply