Hans Christian Andersen Awards

Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature. Often called “the little Nobel”, the Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children’s books. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards. The nominations are made by the National Sections of IBBY and a distinguished international jury of children’s literature specialists selects the recipients.

The Author’s Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator’s Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress. A special Andersen Awards issue of IBBY’s journal Bookbird presents all the nominees and documents the selection process.

IBBY Canada is pleased to announce that we have nominated author Deborah Ellis and illustrator Isabelle Arsenault for the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Awards.

The nomination dossiers are available to download here:

Deborah Ellis
Isabelle Arsenault