Call for Submissions: Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award

Every year since 1986, IBBY Canada has given the Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award to a Canadian illustrator in recognition of outstanding artistic talent in a Canadian picture book. The winner receives a cheque for $1000 and a certificate at an annual award ceremony.

Three members of IBBY Canada form the Cleaver committee and administer the award. The committee members for the 2014 award are Theo Heras (chair), Melanie Fishbane, and Allison Taylor-McBryde.

The recipient is a Canadian illustrator of a picture book published in Canada in English or French during each calendar year. An eligible book as defined by the terms of the award is “a picture book (as opposed to an illustrated book where the text takes precedence over the illustrations).” To be eligible, the book must be a first edition and contain original illustrations by a Canadian illustrator (either a Canadian citizen or permanent resident). All genres are considered: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and folk and fairy tales. A book submitted in a previous year, even if it was submitted in a different language, will not be eligible for consideration.

Applicants should submit one copy of any eligible book to each committee member (total of three). Please contact Theo Heras for the addresses of the committee members. IBBY Canada will donate the submitted books to a suitable recipient(s) at the end of each year.

There is a $20 fee for each title submitted to the Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award. (For example, if you are submitting two titles for consideration, you will mail six books in total [three copies of each title] to the committee members and a cheque for $40 to IBBY Canada’s head office.) The fee is non-refundable, even if your submission is determined to be ineligible, so please read the submission guidelines carefully. This fee will be used to offset administration costs as well as costs associated with the presentation of the award. Please send a cheque made payable to “IBBY Canada” with “Cleaver Award fee” on the memo line to: IBBY Canada, c/o The Canadian Children’s Book Centre, Suite 217, 40 Orchard View Blvd., Toronto, ON M4R 1B9.

The deadline for entries has now passed. The winner of the award will be announced in 2015.