Claude Aubry Award

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late Claude Aubry, who served as director of the Ottawa Public Library. IBBY Canada presents two Aubry Awards biennially, from nominations of individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian children’s literature in English and French.

About Claude Aubry
Claude Aubry, who served as Director of the Ottawa Public Library from 1953 until his retirement in 1979, also enjoyed a distinguished literary career. He was the award-winning author of Le loup de Noël, Agouhanna, and collections of French-Canadian legends – books which were translated into English, Chinese, and Romanian. Aubry also translated the works of Brian Doyle and James Houston into French. He travelled both nationally and internationally to promote his own work and that of other Canadian authors. Among other honours, Aubry was named to the Order of Canada and made an officer of the Ordre international du Bien Public (France). To recognize his many achievements, IBBY Canada established the Claude Aubry Award in 1981.

Past Recipients of the Claude Aubry Award