Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The world’s largest children’s and youth literature award is presented to authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and those active in reading promotion work. The award may be presented to a single recipient or to several, regardless of language or nationality. The award of five million Swedish krona is the second-largest literature prize in the world.

The award is named in honour of Astrid Lindgren, Sweden’s favourite author and one of the world’s most popular. To honour her memory and promote children’s and youth literature around the world, the Swedish government founded this international prize.

The 2007 winner of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was IBBY Canada’s nominee, Banco del Libro de Venezuela! Acclaimed author Jean Little was also nominated in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

IBBY Canada’s nominee for the 2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was the Canadian Children’s Book Centre. The winner of the 2015 award was Cape Town-based PRAESA. Read more about this award and its previous winners here.