Announcing the 2019 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award Finalists

Josée Bisaillon
Dancing with Daisy
Written by Jan Coates
And published by Running the Goat Books

Gary Clement
My Winter City
Written by James Gladstone
Published by Groundwood Books

Geneviève Després
Laurent, c’est moi!
Written by Stéphanie Deslauriers
Published by Fonfon

Emma FitzGerald
A Pocket of Time: The Poetic Childhood of Elizabeth Bishop
Written by Rita Wilson
Published by Nimbus Publishing

Julie Flett
Written by Julie Flett
Published by Greystone Books

Julie Morstad

It Began With a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way
Written by Kyo Maclear
Published by Tundra Books

Dena Seiferling
King Mouse
Written by Cary Fagan
Published by Tundra Books

Sydney Smith
Small in the City
Written by Sydney Smith
Published by Groundwood Books

François Thisdale
Bon Voyage, Mister Rodriguez
Written by Christiane Duchesne
Published by Pajama Press

Rachel Wada
The Phone Booth in Hirota’s Garden
Written by Heather Smith
Published by Orca Book Publishers

The winner will be announced at the IBBY Canada AGM meeting on March 6, 2020 — all are invited to attend. Details will be available soon.

About the Cleaver Award:

The Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award was established in 1985 following the death of Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver, one of Canada’s pre-eminent book illustrators. In her will, Cleaver left a fund of $10,000 dollars for an award to be given annually in recognition of outstanding artistic talent in a Canadian picture book. The recipient receives a cheque for $1,000 dollars and a certificate.

The Cleaver Award is administered by a committee of three members of the Canadian section of the International Board on Books for Young People.

Find out more.