Mark your calendars! IBBY Canada’s annual general meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, February 26 at the Runnymede Public Library (2178 Bloor Street West) in Toronto. Come hear about all of our activities from this busy year and meet other active IBBY members from the children’s publishing community, including librarians, editors, authors, and scholars. Refreshments will be served.

Join the Discussion on Canada’s Reading Strategy

Registration is now open for the second TD National Reading Summit: Toward a Nation of Readers. IBBY Canada is a founding partner of the National Reading Campaign.

The summit will be held in Montreal January 20-21, 2011, and features an outstanding lineup of speakers including Mr. Li, principal of Nanshan Experimental School in Shenzen, China’s leader in reading promotion; France Desmarais of Communication-Jeunesse; children’s author Shane Peacock; John Ralston Saul; composer and conductor Dr. John Kim Bell; singer/songwriter Susan Aglukark; author Jon Scieszka; Clara N. Bohrer, Chair of Every Child Ready to Read; Craig Alexander, Chief Economist from TD Bank; and many more. Members are encouraged to register and attend the summit, either in person or by webcast. Program and registration details are available online at www.nationalreadingcampaign.ca / www.campagnesurlalecture.ca.

IBBY Congress 2010 Speeches and Photos Available

Unable to attend the 32nd IBBY Congress in Santiago de Compostela this past September? Grab a glass of sangria and pretend you’re in Spain as you access the speeches and seminars and view photos of the five-day Congress. Can you spot IBBY Canada President Patricia Ocampo?

Be sure to check out IBBY Canada member Joanne Schwartz’s seminar on the emergence of Inuit children’s books and the moving acceptance speech by Joana Felih and Kathy Knowles of the OSU Children’s Library Fund, the IBBY Canada-nominated winner of the Asahi Award.

Cleaver Award presented to Oleg Lipchenko

2009 Cleaver Award winner Oleg Lipchenko with IBBY Canada President Patricia Ocampo.

IBBY Canada President Patricia Ocampo presented the 2009 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Award to Oleg Lipchenko at a book launch held at Nicholas Hoare Books in Toronto on October 7, 2010. Mr. Lipchenko received a cheque for $1,000 and a certificate honouring his work on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, published by Tundra Books, which was also celebrating the publication of his latest work, Humpty Dumpty and Friends.

This year’s jury – comprised of a Montreal school librarian; children’s librarian at the National Library and Archives of Quebec; and Master’s in Children’s Literature student from BC – had this to say about the winner:

“Oleg Lipchenko has turned this classic story into a rich experience for readers greeting Alice for the first time, as well as for those who know the original…Lipchenko’s illustrations are more than images on a page; they are an homage to the surreal quality and humor of Lewis Carroll’s text.”

The annual IBBY Canada Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Award, established in 1985, honours outstanding artistic talent in Canadian picture books.

IBBY Canada at Word on the Street!

A bright, crisp Sunday morning was the perfect setting for book lovers, writers, families and friends to get together and celebrate literacy and reading. Our colourful IBBY Canada booth drew in plenty of curious passers-by. We spread the word about IBBY Canada while handing out bookmarks, buttons, and some sweets. This year we were fortunate to be able to feature a great raffle with a fantastic prize of Canadian picture books worth over $150. Congratulations to Bonnie Chin, a Toronto teacher, who won this awesome prize!

A special thanks to all the volunteers who came to help out at the IBBY Canada booth!